How to make the most of your GLP: final advice from the Session 2 GLP Ambassadors

During the course of Session 2, the GLP Team enjoyed working with our four GLP Ambassadors, Aditi, Fauzan, Hana and Ivana, on a range of GLP events. Between them, the Ambassadors have amassed a range of diverse GLP experiences, including working at a summer camp in America, organising events and field trips for an environmental sciences club, learning Italian at Bologna University, Italy and interning for Pricewaterhouse Coopers in Pakistan.

In the midst of their exams, the Ambassadors took some time out from their preparations to reflect on their experiences, share some highlights and some final, parting tips with us on how you can make the most of your GLP.

Hana
Bachelor of Arts with the degree Bachelor of Commerce

Shenandoah National Park

My highlights with the GLP range from travelling across the world, delving into new and interesting cultures and meeting distinguished diplomats. Yet this doesn’t even crack the surface of all my experiences with the program!

The GLP has helped me grow and develop in ways I couldn’t even have dreamed of. So I recommend that you put on your dancing shoes, get stuck in, dive into the deep end and get swept away!

Top tip:

Make as many friendships and connections throughout your time in the program as possible.

Fauzan977063_10200646231032019_575890128_o
Bachelor of Applied Finance

Taking part in the GLP Ambassador Program is definitely the highlight of my GLP experience. It has provided me with an opportunity to challenge myself and boost my confidence by interacting with many students, faculty staff members, professionals and of course, forging a special bond with the GLP staff.

The GLP Ambassador Program truly will be one of the most cherished memories I will look back to.

Top tip:

Try and keep up with the Facebook posts to find activities, and save those which you find interesting. Use the search bar on the Facebook page to find the key activities you are interested in.

Ivana11265102_640599499373314_2668895979735931102_n
Bachelor of International Studies with the degree of Bachelor of Laws

My GLP experience thus far has seen me attempt things I never thought were possible. I never saw myself travelling alone overseas, or doing a language course in Italy during Winter break. Because of all the hurdles I faced, I felt it was the most character-building experience I’ve had. I encourage all students at Macquarie to take advantage of the exchange programs available; the world is your oyster.

The GLP family is unlike any other, take advantage of the opportunity and the wonderful stories to be shared.

Top Tip:

Always have a plan with Colloquia and an idea of how you’ll complete the experience. But don’t take the easy road; make sure you challenge yourself, be open to new ideas and open to making friends.

Aditi
Bachelor of Environment

DCIM100GOPROG0216699.

My whole GLP experience has been incredible to me, however, if I were to pick a favourite, I would say being a GLP Student Ambassador has made it to the top (just above a semester abroad). I’ve learnt to be a better leader, gained confidence and been involved with the nitty-gritty of the GLP.

It’s also been incredible seeing how others are being active global citizens and working, learning about, or volunteering for causes they are passionate about.

Top Tip:

Let your experiences shape who you are. You may end up learning or thinking differently, which gives you a more holistic approach to the world, rather than catering experiences to what you want out of them.

***

Even though it feels like we just welcomed our Session 2 GLP Ambassadors, it’s already time to say see you later – and most importantly – thank you for all the advice and inspiration you have shared!


The Global Leadership Ambassadors are undergraduate students who actively participate in the GLP and want to share their diversity of experiences and enthusiasm with other students to inspire, motivate and advise them. Applications for the 2017 GLP Student Ambassador Program will open soon.

Keep an eye on your MQ Student email address for further information and a link to the application form, or email glp@mq.edu.au. 

Leave a Reply

