Five minutes with Student Ambassador, Aditi Verma

Hi fellow GLPers!

I am in my third year of the Bachelor of Environment and I hope to continue my passions for community engagement and sustainable development.

What’s something that we don’t know about you? 

I have a pet rabbit that is (possibly) a Holland lop. We named her Lola after Bugs Bunny’s girlfriend because she looked like her when she was a kid.

Lola

Lola

Tell us about some of your extra-curricular experiences. Any highlights?

I’ve had a number of extra-curricular experiences because of the GLP. The biggest highlight has to be going to San Francisco, California on a semester long exchange program. I’ve also assisted in a research project called the (re)Generation Project where I researched the connections between young people and nature and got to go to the IUCN World Parks Congress in 2014 where I shook hands with Luvuyo Mandela (Nelson Mandela’s great grandson!). I’ve also done some community service with WIRES, which has led to some interesting experiences, including watching a panicked kangaroo get tranquillised and being bitten by a Rosella. Currently, I am interning at the Sydney Opera House and learning about the implementation of sustainability in organisations whilst calculating the carbon footprint of Vivid LIVE.

DCIM100GOPROG0216699.

Aditi with members of the California State University, East Bay Earth and Environmental Sciences Club in the Pinnacles National Park, 2015

What advice would you give to students who are currently completing the Global Leadership Program? 

I think the GLP worries students because they feel it is something they absolutely must complete during their degree and that it has strict boundaries. But that’s not true at all! The GLP is what you want to make of your time at university. It is what you are passionate about and enjoy doing, whilst giving you official recognition. The GLP’s underlying theme of creating global citizens and leaders is what gives you the potential to be world-changing and aspiring change makers. So don’t be afraid to push your boundaries, test new waters and explore your opportunities!

What do you wish someone told you on your first day of University?

I wish someone told me that university isn’t the end of the world and that failure is a part of the natural learning process. I think I underestimated the reality of university after the HSC and thought that it would be much easier and more predictable. I was so wrong! But through all those mistakes, and ups and downs, I have become a stronger and more resilient person. I learned to accept and apply constructive feedback and use these lessons to thinking more positively.

DCIM100GOPROG0016840.

Aditi with fellow exchange students at the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, 2015

What business, person or innovation has been your biggest motivator?

I have always been driven by the idea that people can change the world for the better. I think Malala Yousafzai is one of my biggest inspirations. Along with her drive for equal education for women, her willpower and fight to change the world is what I love and am inspired by.

What’s the greatest piece of advice you’ve been given?

I think the greatest piece of advice I have been given by a lot of wonderful people (including GLP Advisor Emily!), is that whatever happens, happens for a reason and for the best. There are many challenging times where you might question why something has not turned out the way you expected or hoped for, but with one door closed, another opens.

What do you want to do when you grow up?

I don’t want to grow up any more but if I have to I would love to be involved with communities promoting sustainable development and practices. I strongly believe that people need to be involved in environmental protection and awareness in order for it to be effective and I hope I can promote this idea to others.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR2353.

Aditi on a winter break field trip to White Cliffs, NSW with the Environmental Science Fieldwork (ENVE270) unit, 2015

Where would we find you in your spare time? 

I am a bit of a drifter and I like to move around a lot. But you are most likely to catch me trying to eat my lunch at Ubar whilst shooing away the bin chickens (i.e. Ibises), staring at the soils in the labs of E5A, or catching up with friends at Presse cafe.

Would you rather live by the beach or by the snow?

I wish I could have both but I might have to pick beach because snow involves me wearing so many layers that I end up looking like a giant marshmallow.

****

The Global Leadership Ambassadors are undergraduate students who actively participate in the GLP and want to share their diversity of experiences and enthusiasm with other students to inspire, motivate and advise them. Keep an eye out for them around campus and at GLP events.

 

Leave a Reply

