Five Minutes with Student Ambassador Ashley Avci !

Hi Fellow GLP Students,

I’m a third-year Bachelor of Environment and Bachelor of Laws student. This is also my third year taking part in the GLP and I greatly look forward to developing more skills this year through the program. My focus for the year is to remain healthy and happy, and continue advocating for animals. If you’re interested, please follow my cause at ‘Fin Free Sydney,’ my not-for-profit for sharks.

Come say hi at the uni and feel free to ask me any questions about my GLP experience, I’m always more than happy to talk and/or just listen 🙂

May you all have a wonderful 2016!

1. Do you have any strange habits?  Eating mangoes in the shower!

2. Your work volunteering for wildlife has taken you to many different parts of the world… where would you like to go next? This is a very difficult question, as there are so many species that need saving. I would say, wherever I am needed most, that’s where I’ll go. At the moment I am working on several issues in Australia, such as shark finning.

3. What sorts of things have you been doing alongside your degree? I run my own not-for-profit Fin Free Sydney with my sister. We aim to change the negative view of sharks that is portrayed in the media and lobby the Government for greater protections for sharks. I also intern at Parliament House in Sydney for Dr. Mehreen Faruqi, a wonderful upper house MP. There, I help conduct research and draft animal welfare bills.  I am currently working for Sea Shepherd Australia campaigning for Antarctic Krill. Krill are currently being over-fished for the booming vitamin supplement industry, pet food and farmed fish feed. This is a serious issue that is contributing to climate change and killing off precious marine life.

11903713_1664476707172096_7070580072444498933_n.jpg

4. What advice would you give to students who are currently completing the Global Leadership Program? The Global Leadership Program has so much to offer. My advice would be to choose Colloquia that interest you, this is a great place to start as many of these sessions have the ability to inspire you and give you new ideas. If you’re stuck on where to go with the program, seek advice from the professional GLP staff, they’re a wealth of knowledge.

5. What’s your favourite part of the program? The opportunities. I loved the Canberra Symposium trip, we met so many wonderful professionals on and I learnt so many new things about Australian and international relations.

6. What business, person or innovation has been your biggest motivator? My family and friends, the everyday courageous people I am so lucky to have in my life. There are just too many noteworthy humans to name. Captain Paul Watson is one. He has always fought for what is right

7. What’s the greatest piece of advice you’ve been given? Believe in yourself, success comes from within

8. 10 years from now… What do you hope to be doing? Wherever I am, I hope that I will be making a significant difference to the lives of animals.

12112022_10153672047664939_5191458380159235973_n.jpg

9. Where would we find you in your spare time?  Reading, learning, acting then trying to relax with my family.

10.  What’s worse: hearing someone chew gum, or listening to someone tap their pen? Gum!

 

If you’re interested, please read an article I recently wrote! #KrillFree here!

Leave a Reply

