Five Minutes with Student Ambassador Perri Reynolds!

_MG_9685.jpg

Hi everyone! My name is Perri Reynolds and I’m a third year Law/Arts student, majoring in Criminology and hoping to pursue Cyber Security research after my degree.

  1. What’s something that we don’t know about you?

I am a massive Lord of the Rings fan and have an unhealthy addiction to caffeine. People are starting to worry.

SAM_8262.JPG

  1. Tell us about some of your extra-curricular experiences. Any big highlights you could share?

Last year I travelled to Seoul, South Korea to attend the Sookmyung Women’s University Summer School program through the GLP.

The memories I experienced there are some of my most treasured, from the big moments – such as visiting the Gyeongbokgung Palace, standing on top of the world at Seoul Tower, zip-lining down to Nami Island – right down to the little memories that have etched onto my heart, such as eating fire chicken with tears running down my face, making kimchi, or standing on a rooftop the day before I left and thinking with perfect clarity ‘This is not goodbye.’

12001065_1012218458829764_4241862860498489552_o.jpg

These are just a few of the experiences that I have claimed for my own from participating in the GLP, and I wouldn’t trade them for the world.

  1. What advice would you give to students who are currently completing the Global Leadership Program?

Do everything, see everything, and experience everything. Don’t be afraid to challenge yourself.

  1. What do you wish someone told you on your first day of University?

Make as many friends as possible. Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there.

Before joining the GLP, I struggled with making friends. University can be overwhelming; you really can never be prepared for just how overwhelming it can be. But at the end of the day, all you need is to find the courage to speak up, hold your head high, and make the effort to make the friendships that matter. And I promise you will not regret it.

11838611_10153127493114514_3430211291432706659_o.jpg

  1. Is there an experiential credit activity you are hoping to complete?

Hopefully a chance to study overseas for a semester!

  1. What business, person or innovation has been your biggest motivator?

My family, who have always been there for me, no matter how grumpy I am.

  1. What’s the greatest piece of advice you’ve been given?

My father: (saying goodbye as I left for my gap year abroad) ‘You’ll be fine. Remember: How do you eat an elephant? One step at a time.’

  1. What do you want to do when you grow up?

When I grow up, I want to be able to look up from my desk on a Monday morning, take a long sip from my coffee, stare off into the distance, and think, with no reservations, ‘This is it. This is all that I want from life.’

I’m not entirely sure what that entails, whether it means that I’ll be working in cyber security, research, or whether I’ll be a practising lawyer. I don’t know whether that desk will simply be my kitchen counter in a house, accompanied by a large dog with his head on my lap, or whether I’ll be surrounded by many mini-me’s as they prepare to go to school – but above all else, my main goal is that, when I grow up, I will be happy.

Oh and also save the world from the eventual robot apocalypse. That’s definitely on the list.

  1. Where would we find you in your spare time?

I would love to say here that you could find me crammed under a pile of books in the library working ferociously, being an excellent student, but, I’m going to be truthful. Netflix is a powerful spare-time sucker.

That being said, you’d most likely find me at Wally’s Walk grabbing a coffee before class, or playing squash at the gym (badly). Feel free to say hi!

  1. Would you rather live by the beach or by the snow?

Give me a hot chocolate, a nice scarf and a log fire and you’ve caught yourself one happy snow dweller 🙂

IMG_6060 (1).jpg

 

Leave a Reply

