Meet Our GLP Student Ambassador: Stephanie!

5 Minutes with Stephanie

Hi everyone! I’m a third year psychology student, hoping to go into either clinical or organizational psychology.

What is your worst childhood fear?

After watching ‘8 legged freaks’ when I was 10, I was petrified of spiders taking over the world for a while.

If you could have dinner with any figure, alive or otherwise, who would it be?

I would love to have dinner with Vincent van Gogh, just to discuss his art and also to let him know that his artwork did become famous!

You went on exchange as part of your degree- where did you go?

I went to Cardiff University in Wales. It was honestly one of the most amazing times of my life, I met so many wonderful people and experienced so many things.

Outside of Uni and the GLP… what do you get up too?

I’m currently helping out at a psychology clinic with their marketing and blog. Generally though, I’m either hanging out with friends or binge watching a TV show or some films.

What advice would you give to students who are currently completing the Global Leadership Program?

I think a lot of people get caught up in just trying to complete the program without actually stepping back and reflecting on what they’ve learnt. When you go to any of the events, particularly Colloquia, I’d recommend just taking some time to jot down what you took away from it, if you don’t, you’ll probably forget some valuable points after a while.

What’s your favourite part of the program?

The Experiential Credit. I really enjoy being able to put all the skills and inspiration I gained during Colloquium and the DSS towards a more practical component. Also, I really love that the GLP advertises so many different opportunities that you can get involved with.

What business, person or innovation has been your biggest motivator?

Stephanie, whilst on exchange in Cardiff.

Stephanie on exchange in Cardiff.

Probably Stephen Hawking, I find his journey really inspiring, and it just proves that with willpower and perseverance, one can overcome anything.

What’s the greatest piece of advice you’ve been given?

I was once told that I should take pride in whatever I do, as long as I try my best. It’s really helped me whenever I go into exams, and when I try out initiatives, as I know that once I’ve done all that I can, there’s no use getting frustrated at the result.

In Game of Thrones which house would you come from?

I think I’d be part of House Tyrell, just because out of all the houses, they seem to be the most chill.

Would you rather live by the beach or by the snow?

The beach, can’t stand the cold!

Leave a Reply

