Meet Our GLP Student Ambassador: Anupam!

5 Minutes with Anupam

Screen Shot 2015-07-28 at 5.01.52 pmHi all, I’m currently a second year student, studying a Bachelor of Environment with a Bachelor of Law. Hopefully I can get more involved with MUDS and MULS in the coming years (and the GLP of course).

What’s something that we don’t know about you? 

I unashamedly love ping pong.

Tell us about some of your extra-curricular experiences. Any big highlights you could share?

Through GLP I took a trip to America for an internship and entrepreneurship course in December/January of this year. And I just returned from South Korea where I was debating at Australs for Macquarie through MUDS (Macquarie Uni Debating Society).

What advice would you give to students who are currently completing the Global Leadership Program? 

Do activities that you would not usually do under your degree or in everyday life. I always try to branch outside my comfort zone and almost always I have an amazing experience and learn heaps.

What do you wish someone told you on your first day of University?

Try to make a range of friends, not just from your high school or same degree. It is always much more interesting to have friends from a range of background with different experiences.

Is there an experiential credit activity you are hoping to complete? 

Hopefully going on university exchange somewhere in Europe!

What business, person or innovation has been your biggest motivator?

Definitely my family, and especially my brother. They are all great motivators and supporters.

What’s the greatest piece of advice you’ve been given?

Whatever you are doing, whether that is studying, playing sports, playing a role in a play- give 100%. While you are engaged in that activity, do not think about everything else you are involved in, just give your all to that one activity.

What do you want to do when you grow up?

Hopefully an environmental lawyer somewhere overseas, but anything where I am actively engaged with protecting the environment would be awesome.

Where would we find you in your spare time? 

I would like to say behind a table, reading or studying. But most likely you can find me at the tennis courts or football grounds either coaching or playing.

Would you rather have to swim across a 50 meter pool to escape a hungry shark or run across a football field (100 yards) to escape an angry gorilla?

I would swim across a 50m pool to escape the hungry shark because even if the shark caught up, I could ‘Mick Fanning’ it.

Leave a Reply

