Meet Our GLP Student Ambassador: Tierneigh!

tierneigh

Tierneigh during her volunteer expedition to   Africa earlier this year.

5 Minutes with Tierneigh

Hi, I’m Tierneigh. I’m in my third year of a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws degree.

Do you have any strange habits?

Not strange, but I do have the icky habit of biting my nails!

What sorts of things have you been doing alongside your degree?

Alongside my degree I have tried to do as much travel and volunteering as possible. Since beginning my degree, I have traveled to three continents and volunteered continuously with the Biala Hostel for young Indigenous Women, St Vincent de Paul and my Residential College social committees.

Coming from the Northern Territory, I have also made it my personal mission to visit all of Sydney’s best dessert venues…as that’s one thing the Territory is lacking!

What advice would you give to students who are currently completing the Global Leadership Program? 

I would encourage students to find something that are passionate about and then get involved anyway possible with events and opportunities that concern whatever it may be they’re passionate about. Attend the conferences, forums etc that consider and talk about this topic, volunteer with groups that stand for ideals you too believe in and travel to places near and far gaining a global perspective that no other teaching can impart.

What’s your favourite part of the program?

Honestly my favourite part of the program would have to be the GLP Facebook forum. The forum allows me to keep updated on all the current and upcoming opportunities, most of which I would miss out on if I wasn’t apart of this group and my notifications weren’t turned on.

The GLP advisors are pretty cool too!

What business, person or innovation has been your biggest motivator?

I read the book ‘Desert Flower’ by Waris Dirie when I was undertaking a Women’s Studies class in year 12 and have been inspired ever since. Dirie is a Somalian Model, author and women’s rights activist known for her efforts in eliminating Female Genital Mutilation. Dirie is a really inspiring and strong woman who provides hope to victims that one day this practice won’t be around to harm other young girls and women.

What’s the greatest piece of advice you’ve been given?

To believe in my own power and strength to make a difference in my own life and that of others.

10 years from now… What do you hope to be doing?

My aspirations and plans for the future continue to change. At this stage though, I hope to have returned to the Northern Territory and be working towards Indigenous Territorians plights for an equal standard of living.

You have a big family… what’s it like when everyone gets together?

Yes, I am the eldest of 6 kids. Growing up was stressful to say the least. Think, bunk-beds, Brady Bunch like photos, a line to get into the bathroom, zero alone time, a race to finish dinner to get to the seconds, a wardrobe full of hand-me-downs and people always asking if your parents are Catholic!

Despite the colourful upbringing, I have now lived out of home for quite a while and love nothing more than coming home at the end of the semester to my crazy family.  Dinner time is still a little stressful, but there are a lot of hands to help so it makes for light work.. sometimes!

What’s worse: hearing someone chew gum, or listening to someone tap their pen?

Chew gum… or chewing with your mouth open- that’s a killer!

Leave a Reply

