Meet Our Global Leadership Student Ambassador: Izzie!

Izzie- At a baby elephant orphanage in Sri Lanka

Izzie- At a baby elephant orphanage in Sri Lanka

5 Minutes with Izzie

My name is Izzie, I’m in my third year studying a Bachelor of Arts. In the (hopefully near) future, I’d love to travel some more, work with   animals, study marine biology and lead more tour groups!

 What is your favourite type of food?

All food is my favourite, though there is a special place in my heart for pasta!

 What is something we don’t know about you?

There is very little that people don’t already know about me, I tend to talk a lot! I guess a lesser-known thing about me is that I love snow. I hate winter and being cold but being in the snow – I absolutely love it.

 What advice would you give to students who are currently completing the Global Leadership Program?

Definitely have a plan ready and go see an advisor! I was a little unsure of some of the things I wanted to do with experiential credit and speaking to advisor (hey Emily!) and getting confirmation that I was on the right track was a real relief.

 You just got back from a trip abroad- where did you go?

I went to Sri Lanka for my cousin’s wedding! During our extra days there we visited an elephant orphanage (where I got to feed a baby elephant!) and went on a safari and saw even more elephants!

 What’s your favourite part of the program?

I love going to the DSS! It’s a fun night where I get to dress up and see people I haven’t seen in a while (especially people I met during Colloquium and never got around to friending on Facebook).

What business, person or innovation has been your biggest motivator?

Richard Branson! He started with such a small idea and now he is literally all over the world. He’s come so far despite his bad grades as a student – which always make me feel better when I don’t do well on a quiz.

What’s the greatest piece of advice you’ve been given?

“Do what you want to do, forget what other people think – it’s your life and your choices.”

In another life what would you have been?

A mermaid. Definitely a mermaid.

Your philosophy is…

“I tried and therefore no one should criticise me” – Daniel Radcliffe (SNL skit)

Would you rather have the hiccups forever, or forever have that feeling like you’re just about to sneeze?

100% the hiccups! That awful almost-sneeze feeling is the worst!

Leave a Reply

